

ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

A117.1 Committee Minutes #15 Thursday, Sept. 8, 2022 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover **Vice-chair:** Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

1) Welcome and Introductions

1) Call to order the meeting was called to order at 12:00 Eastern

2) Meeting attendance: Committee members

Ken Schoonover, Chair - Individual Member

Tara Barthelmess NCDOI principal

Hansel Bauman, NAD Principal

Billie Louise Bentzen, AERBVI Principal

Gene Boecker NATO alternate

Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)

Dan Buuck, NAHB Principal

Nicholas Capezza, PHTA, principal

John Catlett, BOMA International Principal

Paula Cino, National Multifamily Housing Council, Principal

David Cooper, SMA Principal

Glenn Dea, ISA, Principal

Brad Gaskins, NACS, Principal

Alan Gettelman, Individual Member

John S. Gonzalez ICC Alternate

Greg Guarnaccia Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)

Gina Hilberry UCP Principal Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal

Alllison Lourash, LPA, principal

Marsha Mazz, United Spinal Association, Principal

Sean McNamara Target Corp Alternate

Susan Morgan ASID alternate

Eunice Noell-Waggoner, IES (alternate)

Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC Principal

Rex Pace, HUD, Principal

Jake Pauls Individual Member

Kenny Peskin, ISA, Alternate

Hope Reed, NMGCD Alternate

William Richardson AEMA principle

Ed Roether, individual member

Josh Schorr, US Access Board, alternate

Jessica Schrader, SEGD, Principal

Leslie Shankman-Cohn ASID (Principal)

Pat Sheehan American Council of the Blind Principal

Ed Steinfeld, RESNA Principal

Kyle Thompson, PMI, Principal

Michael Tierney, BHMA Principle

Sharon Toji, HLAA Principal

Richard Williams, WABO Alternate

R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal

Scott Windley, US Access Board, Principal

Interested parties:

Amy Carpenter, SFCS Architects

Karen Gridley, Minnesota Dept of Labor & Industry, Construction

Codes & Licensing Division (DLI/CCLD)

Thomas Hirsch, FAIA representing self

Hoyt Jeter, PE City of Tacoma, WA

Tami Kump, AIA, Knothe Bruce Architects

C.J. Lagan, American Standard, LIXIL

Ramiro Mata, ASPE

Ashley Pitts Jensen Hughes

Richard Roberts, Honeywell, representing NEMA

Chris Schexnayder the Access Partnership-lp & The Accessibility

Professionals Association (Charter Member)

Norman Wang, RA, Maryland Dept of Labor, Building Codes

Administration

Brian K. Willis, PE Self

Laurel Wright, NCOSFM, Ret.

Bill Zellmer AIA Sutter Health, Sacramento CA

Tom Zuzik, NOMMA.ORG

В.

Accessible bathing April 21 presentation Sept. 12
Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting every other Wednesday, starting May 25, 1-3 Eastern
Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meeting TBD

C. Administrative items

The revised proposals are available at - <u>A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022</u> Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>A117.1 webpage</u>

Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee. Deadline was **Sept. 6, 2022.**

ICC Public Comment Hearings start Wednesday, Sept. 14-18, 2022. This can be viewed live at iccsafe.org

D. ICC A117.1 development procedures –

E) Review of Proposals:

The following proposals were decided during the call. See the report for official committee reasons and final actions. Any items remaining on the agenda will roll to the next agenda -

06-15 AM 29-3-1 06-16 AS 26-3-2 06-17 assigned to change in level work group tween main text in 604.4 and Exception 1 06-18 divide question Main text AS 2-3 Exception 1 I 2-0-1 06-19 adh, 'nic ative authority approved 21-9-0 Modification to Modification to change required to permit approved 17-10-2 AM 19-8-1 06-20 AS 24-0-1 06-21 AS 4-20-2 D 23-2-1 06-23 Editorially change from stall to compartment AS 22-4-1 06-24 AS 18-8-0

F) New busine

- 2) Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>ICC A117.1 webpage</u>

 3) Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext.
- 4205
- H) **Adjourn** Meeting was adjourned at 4:10.