# ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

## A117.1 Committee Minutes #21 Thursday, Dec. 1, 2022 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover Vice-chair: Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

#### 1) Welcome and Introductions

1) Call to order – the meeting was called to order at 12:00 Eastern

2) Meeting attendance:

Committee members

Gina Hilberry, Vice Chair, UCP Principal

Doug Anderson, AHLA - Principal

Tara Barthelmess, NCDOI OSFM, Principal

Billie L (Beezy) Bentzen - AERBVI Principal

Gene Boecker, NATO alternate

Kevin Brinkman, NEII, principal

Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)

Dan Buuck, NAHB - Principal

Nicholas Capezza, PHTA, Principal

Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal

John Catlet, JD Catlett Consulting for BOMA Principal

Bill Conner, alternate ASTC

David Cooper, SMA – Principal

Glenn Dea, International Sign Association, Principal

Brad Gaskins, NACS, Principal

Alan Gettelman, Individual Member

John S. Gonzalez – ICC alternate

Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)

Dennis Hall, CSI, Principal

Glenn Hedman, RESNA, Alternate

Matt Lescher, NATO,

Jake Pauls, Individual Professional Member

Lucy Pereira, ISA, Alternate

Hope Reed, NMGCD Alternate

Nathan Roether, United Spinal Association Alternate

Larry M Schneider AIA – American Institute of Architects Alternate

Josh Schorr – US Access Board, alternate

Jessica Schrader, SEGD Principal

Pat Sheehan, ACB Principal

Ed Steinfeld, RESNA Principal

Kyle Thompson, PMI, Principal

Michael Tierney, BHMA Principle

Sharon Toji, HLAA, Principal

Richard Williams, WABO Alternate

R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal

Scott Windley, US Access Board Principal

Mary Winkler – ASSP alternate

### Interested parties:

Jenifer Gilliland, WABO (primary)

Karen Gridley, MN Dept. Labor & Industry, Construction Codes Division

Ramesh Gulatee, LIfeCare Design Studio Architects

Thomas Hirsch, FAIA, Hirsch Group Architecture

Hoyt D Jeter. Senior Structural reviewer @ city of Tacoma.

Tami Kump, AIA, Knothe Bruce Architects

Ramiro Mata, ASPE

Jeffrey Munsterteiger, NAHB

Steve Orlowski, Sundowne Building Code Consultants, LLC (self)

Norman Wang, RA Maryland Dept of Labor, Building Codes

Administration

Brian K. Willis, P.E. - Self

Laurel W. Wright, NCOSFM, Ret.

Thomas B Zuzik Jr – Railingcodes.com representing NOMMA.org

#### **B.** Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 11-17-2022 were approved
- 2) Work groups –

Reach over a counter - meetings Dec. 9

06-13 – meetings Dec. 16

Adult changing – 2nd presentation May 19 – meetings TBD

Assisted toileting and bathing – March 24 presentation – meeting TBD

Scoping – April 7 presentation – meetings TBD

Accessible bathing – April 21 presentation – meeting TBD

Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment – meeting every other Wednesday, starting May 25, 1-3 Eastern

Walking and Wheeled Surfaces – meeting TBD