

# ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

## A117.1 Committee Minutes #54 Thursday, April 11, 2024 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover Vice-chair: Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

#### **Committee members:**

Ken Schoonover, Chair, Individual Member

Doug Anderson, Principal, AHLA

Angeline Aradanas-Hall, ASID, Alternate

Tara Barthelmess, NC OSFM, Principal

Billie Louise (Beezy) Bentzen, AERBVI Principal

Gene Boecker. NATO alternate

Karen Braitmayer DREDF Principal

Kevin Brinkman, NEII, Principal

Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)

Gregory Ceton, Pool and Hot Tub Alliance, Principal

Shannon Chasteen, AEMA, Principal

Bill Conner FASTC ASTC alternate

Glenn Dea, International Sign Association (Principal)

Brad Gaskins, NACS, Principal

Alan Gettelman, Individual Member

John S. Gonzalez: ICC (Alternate)

Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)

Cody Gunn, TGT, Alternate

Glenn Hedman, RESNA, Alternate

Dawn Heiderscheidt, AOTA, Alternate

Robert Kelly Montgomery County Principal

Matt Lescher, NATO, principal

George Lim, SEGD Alternate

Carolyn Majowka, VBCOA, Alternate

Marsha Mazz, Principal United Spinal Association

Jeffrey Munsterteiger, NAHB, Alternate

Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, Principal

Ed Roether, Individual Member

Stan Ross NM GCD Principal

Leslie Shankman-Cohn, ASID, Principal

Pat Sheehan, ACB, Principal

Koni Sims, ACB, Alternate
Ed Steinfeld, RESNA, Principal
John Rife Torkelson- Accessibility Professionals Association, Principal
Richard Williams, WABO Alternate
R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal
Mary Winkler, Alternate, ASSP (American Society of Safety Professionals)

#### **Interested parties:**

Alicia Chavez – California Division of the State Architect Head Quarters David Galbo, RA, AIA, NCARB, Galbo & Wolf Karen Gridley – MN Dept Labor & Industry, Construction Codes Division Ramesh Gulatee, Individual Thomas Hirsch, FAIA HIRSCH GROUP ARCHITECTURE Tami Kump, AIA – Knothe Bruce Architects Larry M Schneider AIA – Individual W. Wright, NCOSFM, Ret. Jeff Yanke – Evan Terry Associates Thomas Zuzik Jr – Railing codes, representing NOMMA.org

B.

Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee.

Deadline for the ballot was Sept. 6, 2022.

Ballots for proposals heard through January 19, 2023 were sent to the committee.

Deadline for the ballot was March 6, 2023.

Ballots for proposals heard through May 11, 2023 and public comment agenda were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **July 31, 2023.** 

Ballots for 2017 A117.1 supplement for 06-90-2021 were due Nov. 13, 2023.

Meeting dates for the 2024 are: Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, 29, March 14, 28, April 11, 25, May 9, 23 and June 6, 20, 2024

Kim provided information on logistics moving forward in Webex.

#### **D. ICC A117.1 development procedures** NA

### E. Review of Proposals:

Chapter 6

06-54 - Final Action AM

BC1 and BC2 - no action

06-60 Final Action AFM by PC1

PC1 AS 29-0-1

06-61 Final Action modification, PC1, BC3

BC1 - modification to change 58" to 57" in two locations – 28-0-1

BC2 No action

BC3 AS 24-0-1

PC1 AS 25-0-1

PC2 No action

06-62 Final Action AFM BC1, PC1

BC1 AS 29-0-1

PC1 AS 26-0-1

PC2 No action - addressed in E1-2023

06-80- coordination – No action; addressed in 06-62

06-64 Final Action is AM by BC1 mod

BC1 – modification in Section 808.2.2.1 to change 57.5" to 57" – 27-0-1

06-65 Final Action AFM PC1

PC1 AS 27-0-1

06-69 Final Action AM

BC1 No action

## BC1 AS 8-15-0

06-82 – see committee action on 06-18

BC1 - There was a proposal for D for consistency with the committee action on 06-18. D 3-20-1 Committee Reason: The data from Dr. Steinfeld does support the 20" increase for transfer seats.

06-10 -

06-15 − 06-18 ■ with 06-

06-08 -

06-34 - 06-38 - 06-58 -